The Dr Aiden Meade Annual Award

The Practitioner Health Matters Programme (PHMP) is delighted to announce the launch of the Dr Aiden Meade Annual Award. This award is aimed at exploring the issues relating to the mental health and wellbeing of Healthcare Professionals as well as highlighting the work of the PHMP.

The PHMP was launched in 2015 and provides a confidential service to doctors, dentists and pharmacists who may be experiencing stress, burnout, mental health or substance use issues. This important service acknowledges that practitioners can often find it difficult to access appropriate and confidential medical help particularly when it relates to their own health and wellbeing.

The award is named in honour of Dr Aiden Meade who was one of the founding members and Chair of the Sick Doctor Trust for many years.

This annual award is open to all registered members of the Dental, Pharmacy or Medical professions in the Republic of Ireland.  It is also open to all full time students of medicine, dentistry and pharmacy in the Republic of Ireland.

Submissions must be in any of the following formats:

  • Traditional essay, delivered in a reflective or narrative style;
  • Scientific format which may be a literature review, or an audit;
  • A piece of non-sponsored original research.

The subject matter of the submission must relate to the topic of practitioner health and wellbeing. Submissions must have a minimum of 1000 words but should not exceed 2000 words and must be in PDF format.

Submissions may be made via email to:

or posted to: 
Practitioner Health Matters, 41 Main St. Blackrock, Co Dublin.  A94Y4E7

Closing date for submissions:
November 30th 2021

Adjudication will be by an independent panel made up of representatives from the three professions in conjunction with representatives of the Board of Trustees of the Practitioner Health Matters Programme (PHMP). Marks will be awarded for overall presentation, structure, strength of argument, completeness of supporting literature, conclusions and relevance to the topic of practitioner health and wellbeing. The decision of the adjudicating panel will be final.

There are two awards:

Undergraduate Prize: a cash prize of €400 will be awarded.
Postgraduate Prize: a commemorative Dr Meade Medal will be awarded.

The winning submission may be published in any of the journals of the relevant representative and professional bodies and may also be published on the PHMP website.   The PHMP will be permitted to refer to and quote from the work in any of its publications, publicity or presentations.  The winning author must be prepared to present at the launch of the PHMP Annual Report if requested.